BITS Pilani

  • Page last updated on Thursday, May 16, 2019



Dr.Jayati Ray Dutta

 Ph.D (IIT Kharagpur, 2004)
Contact Details
     Dr. Jayati Ray Dutta                                               

      A 118, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences Department,                                               

      BITS-Pilani, Hyderabad Campus,                                              

      Jawahar Nagar, Kapra Mandal,                                             

      Medchal, Telangana - 500078 

     Phone: 040-66303542
 About the Faculty

1. Bachelor of Science (B.SC) (Zoology Honours) Botany & Molecular biology - Calcutta University (1st class 3rd), India. 

2. Master of Science (M.SC) (Zoology with Cytology & Genetics Specialization)- Calcutta University (1st class 5th), India.

3. Ph.D. Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur (2000-2004), India.

4. Research Associate, IIT Kharagpur (2004-2005), India.
5. DST, FAST TRACK, Young Scientist, IIT Kharagpur (2006-2009), India.
6. Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences Department, BITS-Hyderabad Campus (Aug, 2008-June, 2018).
7. Associate Professor, Biological Sciences Department, BITS-Hyderabad Campus (July, 2018 - till date).
PhD Dissertation Guidance: 

1. One PhD student, Ms. U.S. Ramyasri submitted pre-submission in Oct, 2015 & graduated in May, 2016. 

2. One PhD student, Mr. M. Imran Khan have completed pre-submission seminar on 30th April, 2018 and defended on 1st February, 2019.
3. Four  more PhD students pursuing (2 candidates as PI and 2 as Co-PI).
Higher degree Dissertation Guidance: 

 1. Four M.E. thesis students completed, (Ms. Harshitha 2013, Ms. Swasthi Dhagat in 2014, Ms. Alekhya Jayanthy in 2015 & Ms. Nivetha Sivasankaran, 2017, Yamini Nikhariya, 2019, Akash Arora, pursuing in 2019-2020). 

First degree Dissertation Guidance:

 1. Six first degree thesis students  completed (Mr. C. K. Mouktik in 2013, Mr. Naman Bafna & Mr. Rohan Gupta in 2015, Anshull Mishra in 2017, Sri Charan in May, 2018, Paran Goel, Dec, 2018).


 Study oriented project, Laboratory oriented project & Research Practice/Project guidance:

       1.  Eleven students completed Study oriented project.

       2.  Three students completed Laboratory oriented project.

 3. Six students completed Research practice/projects.
1.  Dr Anupam Bhattacharya, Assosciate Prof., Chemistry, BITS Hyderabad

2.      2. Dr. Ramkrishnan Ganesan, Assistant Prof., Chemistry, BITS Hyderabad

3. Dr. Arkamitra Kar, Assistant Prof., Civil Engineering, BITS Hyderabad. 
4. Prof. S. Dhara, IIT Kharagpur.
5. Prof. A. Das, IIT Kharagpur. 



            1. Reviewer of manuscripts for journals

          a. Biotechnology and Bioprocess Engineering Journal
          b. Journal of Food, Science and Technology
          c. Process Biochemistry
          d. Bioresource Technology
          e. Waste & Biomass Valorization Journal
          f.  Medical Sciences 
           g. BMC Biotechnology 
          h. JSM Nanotechnology & Nanomedicine 
2. Reviewer for DST- SERB proposal 
Editorial Board member: Journal for Advanced Research in Applied Sciences, since Nov, 2013.
Membership in Professional Bodies:

       1. Member of Biotech Research Society.

 2. European Federation of Biotechnology.
3. Life Member of Probiotic Association of India. 
Publications:  Over 42 including Journals & Conferences.

Citation indices


Since 2013











Quick Links

    An institution deemed to be a University estd. vide Sec.3 of the UGC Act,1956 under notification # F.12-23/63.U-2 of Jun 18,1964

    © 2019 Centre for Software Development,SDET Unit, BITS-Pilani, India.

    Designed and developed by fractal | ink design studios