PRESS RELEASE

4th International Conference on Advanced Oxidation Processes held at BITS Goa

The 4th International Conference on Advanced Oxidation Processes (AOP-2016) was held at BITS Pilani, K K Birla Goa Campus, from 17-20 December 2016. AOP-2016 conference was organized by BITS Goa campus in association with the Society of Environmental Chemistry and Allied Sciences (SECAS) and was participated by delegates from USA, Columbia, Brazil, Ireland, France, Netherlands, Cyprus, South Korea, Japan and India comprising faculty, research scholar, students, and industry professionals. The conference theme was focused on chemical and biological oxidative decomposition of organic and inorganic contaminants and the fundamental understanding of degradation mechanism.

Prof. G Raghurama, Director, BITS Goa Campus inaugurated AOP-2016 conference. Prof. B S M Rao, President, SECAS, and Prof. Anjan Chattopadhyay, Head of Chemistry dept. at BITS presented the first copy of the proceedings of AOP-2016 to the Chief Guest, Prof. Michael R. Hoffmann, California Institute of Technology, USA.

There were 5 keynote addresses, 16 invited talks, 10 short talks and about 75 posters and young investigators' oral sessions. Mr. Panjak Seksharia, Kalpavriksh, and Mr. Parag Rangnekar, Goa also delivered talks for AOP 2016.

During the inaugural session Prof. Aravindakumar, General Secretary, SECAS briefed the history of AOPs. Prof. Halan Prakash, Convener AOP-2016, BITS presented the AOP-2016 technical program, and he mentioned, contributed research articles, and reviews for the special issue 'AOP-2016 at BITS, Pilani, K K Birla Goa Campus' were received from all over the world, and it will be published by the reputed Journal of Environmental Chemical Engineering (JECE), Elsevier publications. Prof. M.K. Sahoo proposed the vote of thanks.

END

Photos



L-R Prof. Anjan Chattopadhyay, Prof. M.K Sahoo, Prof. G. Raghurama, Prof. B S M Rao, Prof. C.T Aravindakumar, Prof. Halan Prakash, and Prof. Hoffmann



L-R Prof. Anjan Chattopadhyay, Prof. M.K Sahoo, Prof. G. Raghurama, Prof. Hoffmann, Prof. B S M Rao, Prof. C.T Aravindakumar, Prof. Halan Prakash



L-R Prof. B S M Rao, Prof. Raghurama, Prof. Aravindakumar (lamp lighting), Prof. M K Sahoo, Prof. Halan Prakash