BITS Pilani

  • Page last updated on Monday, July 17, 2023


Students Blossom Here

Experience Unity in Diversity

Students are the main focus of all our activities in the Department. Every year we admit students with outstanding academic performance aspiring to emerge as leaders in technology, science, industry, business, and public administration.  They are our constant partners and source of inspiration.

The essential feature of our department is continuous, internal, transparent evaluation which gives the students opportunities to make decisions and manage progress towards their goal. We encourage regular, informal, out of class interaction between faculty and students of the Department. For this purpose, we constitute a Student-Faculty Council (SFC) at the  beginning of every semester. The members of SFC are drawn from students of each batch of B.E. as well as M.E. programmes and few faculty members of the Department.

We emphasize on all-round development of individual students. They are encouraged to become members of professional organizations including IEEE and scientific/technical societies, IEI, ISTE, etc., as well as associations with focus on social commitments, namely, EWB-BITS, Pilani Goa Campus Chapter, EPAC (Environment Protection Action Club), Renewable Energy Club, etc.

They are allowed to avail opportunities offered by other Departments as well as Divisions. Women empowerment is encouraged in all activities.

We provide mentorship and sponsorship to the interested students for undertaking projects as part of their regular academic work, which also aims at developing innovative products for exhibitions and competitions organized either in the Institute or at national/international platforms. We support them to take up collaborative internship programmes in reputed universities abroad.

Our students interact with large body of alumni of the Department, who not only provide necessary help to young students but also sponsor activities on campus. The strong network of alumni, through BITSAA division on campus, sponsors such students who are in a pipeline for undertaking projects, with potential to grow as start-up, attending Conferences for presenting research papers, etc. The students’ association of the Department also sponsors similar initiatives by students.

On graduating a large number of them are successfully placed in reputed industries as well as Govt or Non-Govt. organizations, and the remaining of them secure admissions for higher studies in world’s top ranking Universities such as Stanford, UC Berkely, Carnegie Mellon etc.

We are proud of the fact that every year our students constitute the top ten graduating students with distinction (very high CGPA) of the institute.

We endeavor to meet their expectations.



Students' Achievements

Devesh Kumar (2019AAPS0270G)
Selected as a Google Summer of Code (GSOC) 21  Developer at JBOSS.

Sarthak Gupta (2019AAPS0290G)
Part of the the top 30 teams selected worldwide as the finalists of the Innovate4Health Challenge by Johns Hopkins University. They completed the challenge as a group of 3 and he was the only BITSian.

Akash Jha (2018B5A80893G)
  • Selected in Ethereum India Fellowship 2.0 among top 20 web2 developers being introduced to web3 among 2000+ applications.
  • Winner of Polygon Bounty in EtherPunk Hackathon for my project DMon - a NFT based AR trading card game.
  • Winner of GeoSpatial Marketplace bounty for Harmony One Love Hackathon for my project GeoSpatia.

Prayag Mohanty (2020A3PS0566G)
Prayag Mohanty from EEE , currently in first year. He has won the Goa & Nagpur cluster final of the digital edition of Tata Crucible Campus Quiz 2021 that was telecasted on Youtube, Twitter and LinkedIn on 19 March 2021 and Times Now on 26 June 2021. He has received a cash prize of Rs.35,000 and proceeded to the western zonal finals of the quiz, as part of the top 24 quizzers in the country. He is the youngest champion to proceed to the round of 24.

Ishan Yagnik (2020A3PS1756G) 
Consultathon 2.0 winner (other members: Rishabh Dowerah,Amaan Sadri, Aastha Bharill)

Kopal Srivastava (2018B1AA0594G)
Our team Giriko (consisting of Giransh Sasan (2018B1A10587G), Richa Naik (2018AAPS0267G) and Kopal Srivastava (2018B1AA0594G) were declared the National Winners of Product Construct, a Product Management Case competition organised by IIT Madras, where we won a cash prize of INR 25k.

Team Pegasus 3rd place overall, 1st place in design report and 3rd place in technical presentation in SAEISS Aero Design Challenge 2021.
Ashvin Ramesh (Captain) 2018A4PS0559G, Pragalbh Singh (Vice-Captain) 2018A4PS0517G, Pranjal Anand 2018A4PS0874G, Deven Paul 2018A4PS0047G , Paul Jacob 2019B5PS0809G, Vardhan Shah 2019A4PS0665G, Ishan Neogi 2019A4PS0393G Rachit Gupta 2019A3PS0466G, Dritiman Sinha 2019AAPS0005G, Shivank Maheshwari 2019A4PS1036G, Rajat Garg 2019B4PS0282G ,Gaurav Shinde 2019B5PS0852G.

Sayani Mallick (2019AAPS0218G)
  • Selected as an Outreachy open-source intern for Eclipse Adoptium for the project Simplify and gamify external AQA . This year only 71 interns had been selected all over the world out of 7000(approx) applicants.
  • Also received the honor of being selected as a speaker at EclipseCON 2021 on the project Gamifying external tests in Eclipse Adoptium using machine learning and Twitter.

Himanshu Jain (2019A3PS0423G)
  • First BITSian across all 3 campuses to crack a product role at MPL ( Product Manager @ MPL ) at the end of second year.
  • Ranked 9th in India in ProduScope 2021 organised by E-Cell, IIT Guwahati PM School from July 12 to July 20. More than 390+ teams across India participated from different B-Schools, Engineering Colleges and various product communities with leading product leaders.
  • 2 times PM School India Weekend Case Challenges for TESLA and MX TakaTak.

Quick Links

An Institution Deemed to be University estd. vide Sec.3 of the UGC Act,1956 under notification # F.12-23/63.U-2 of Jun 18,1964

© 2024 Centre for Software Development,SDET Unit, BITS-Pilani, India.

Designed and developed by fractal | ink design studios